“Likeable Social Media” by Dave Kerpen

Like many business-esque books they have an elaborate subhead that describes the book, and this one is no different. “How to delight your customers, create an irresistible brand, and be generally amazing at Facebook (and other social networks).” That pretty mush sums up what the book is about, which allows me to discuss other things.

Likeable social media

The book’s purpose is to educate its readers about social media. Today many people use social media, but how many use it properly? The main and obvious message about our times and one that Kerpen highlights is that the Internet is a two-way medium. There are many companies who understand this, and many who don’t. This book demonstrates how success for a company will be determined in the future. Branding isn’t going to necessarily going to be determined by whether a person engages with your company, but what they think about it.

Now what did I mean by that last comment? Take my relationship with Mozilla, more specifically Firefox. I like Mozilla’s brand and what they offer to the marketplace, however, I don’t use Firefox or any other Mozilla product for that matter. Therefore although I don’t use the brand I think highly of it. Is that a bad thing for Mozilla? No, not really. Mozilla benefits from me thinking highly of them. I will in turn talk about it in a positive way to friends, and I might even mention them in a positive way on a blog post. Although they don’t have me directly as a customer, they have me as an influence. That as I understand it is social media’s role. Being likeable is primary. Sales will follow crowds.

Dave Kerpen goes into this extensively in his book Likeable Social Media. He also has released another book called Likeable Business. I have yet to read it however so I won’t comment on whether it is good or not. Instead I will just post a picture.

Kerpen0071800476-200x300

Dave Kerpen owns a company cleverly called Likeable Media. They specify in social media and helping their customers learn how to engage their audience in this newish medium. www.likeable.com

They have a great blog about social media on their website, as well as an informative Twitter feed @LikeableMedia

